Kiwis Bangla-washed

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Bangladesh whitewashed New Zealand in the three-match one day international series defeating the visitors by four wickets in the last and final match in Narayanganj today.

The Tigers scored 309  runs with four balls to spare for the loss of six wickets at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah when this report was filed.

Shamsur Rahman was elected player of the match for his 97-runs knock.

Bangladesh Captain Mushfiqur Rahim was given the player of the series award.

In the match Mahmudullah was the last batsman to fall. He scored 16.

Nasir Hossain remains unbeaten on 45 runs. Sohag Gazi has joined him after Mahmudullah fell.

Naeem Islam fell as he failed to return to his striking position while trying to take two runs off the third delivery of the 43rd over bowled by Mills.

He was run out after scoring 63 from 74 balls. He hammered five boundaries in his inning.

Earlier, opener Shamsur Rahman narrowly missed his maiden century, returning to the pavilion in the 35th over after scoring 96 as the Tigers strove to slap visiting New Zealand a whitewash in the three-match ODI series.

Shamsur, who seemed very confident on the crease in the second ODI of his career, attempted to drive the first ball of 35th over by Anderson on outside off, generating a thick edge. For wicketkeeper Ronchi, it was an easy task to grab.

He played 107 balls and hit four over boundaries and seven boundaries.

Opener Ziaur Rahman was the first to return to the pavilion, in the seventh over. As he attempted to charge down to send the ball over midwicket, Milne caught him. He scored 22 off 20 balls.

In the 19th over, a resolute Mominul Haque failed to hit a delivery off Devcich the way he wanted to, giving a catch to the bowler. He scored 32 from 33 balls with four boundaries.

A silence fell on the stadium as skipper Mushfiqur Rahim saw his way back to the pavilion in the next over giving a catch to Taylor at square leg off a delivery by McCullum. He managed to score only 2 from 4 balls.

Earlier, New Zealand posted a formidable total of 307 on the board, thanks to an unbeaten century from Ross Taylor.

Taylor smashed nine boundaries and three sixes on his way to 107 runs from 93 balls at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.

He was well supported by Colin Munro, who scored a quickfire 85 to lift the team total over 300.

State-owned television BTV and private satellite channel Gazi TV are broadcasting the match live.

Anton Devcich was the first to depart as he misread a Mahmudullah delivery and offered a catch to Abdur Razzak on 46.

Grant Elliot followed suit soon, getting dismissed by Razzak on 3.

Keeper Tom Latham offered a steady innings of 43 off 73 balls before he edged to Mushfiqur Rahim off the bowling of Rubel Hossain.

Bangladesh are looking to inflict the second consecutive whitewash on the Kiwis, after 2010’s 4-0 whitewash of the hosts.

New Zealand, on the other hand, are battling to save face from another humiliating loss.

Bangladesh made one change to their squad, replacing unwell opener Tamim Iqbal with Ziaur Rahman.

The Black Caps made four changes, with Milne, Munro, Ronchi and McClenaghan replacing Neesham, Southee, Rutherford and McCullum.

Kyle Mills also replaced Brendon McCullum as the stand-in captain.



Ziaur Rahman, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Sohag Gazi, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak and Rubel Hossain.

New Zealand

AP Devcich, TWM Latham, GD Elliott, LRPL Taylor, Munro, L Ronchi, AF Milne, NL McCullum, KD Mills, Corey J Anderson and MJ McClenaghan.

শেয়ার করুন