BNP announce nationwide programmes

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BNP acting secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir Monday said they still believe the government will change their mindset and take steps to hold the next general elections under a non-party neutral caretaker government.
Fakhrul was addressing a press conference in the party’s central office in city.
He said his party and allies are always hopeful that good sense will appear in the minds of ruling party leaders at the last moment. He argued, since politicians work for people, they will not stand against the will of the constituents.
The opposition alliance-led by Bangladesh Nationalist Party on Monday also announced mass contact programme surrounding Khaleda Zia in divisional cities to mobilise peoples’ support and to realise their demand for forming an election-time non-party government.
Fakhrul, flanked by the 18-party alliance leaders at BNP central office at Naya Paltan in the noon, announced the programmes through a press conference.
He said they wanted to wage movement in line with the constitution, peacefully, involving people, to force the government to hold the next general elections under a non-party neutral government.
The programmes include public rallies led by BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia in Narsingdi on September 7, in Rajshahi on September 15, in Rangpur on September 16, in Khulna on September 22, in Barisal on September 28 and in Sylhet on October 5, respectively.
Without giving specific dates, Fakhrul said after Eid-ul-Azha BNP Chairperson will address public meetings in Dhaka and Chittagong.
He said leaders of BNP and its allies would visit district cities at individual level from August 20 to August 31 to make the alliance more organised and boost up courage among local leaders and activists.
Alliance leaders including Jamaat-e-Islami central working committee member Redwanullah Shahidi, JAGPA president Shafiul Alam Prodhan, Kalyan Party chairman Syed M Ibrahim, LDP secretary general Redwan Ahmed, Labour party chairman Mustafizur Rahman Iran, Islami Party chairman Abdul Mobin, Democratic League general secretary Saifuddin Ahmed Moni, and Khelafat Majlish Nayeb-e-Ameer Mojibur Rahman were present in the press conference, among others.

শেয়ার করুন